Writer's Craft
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Writer's Craft

Southwood's EWC4UI Writer's Craft Course 2010

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Room With a View (3 Discontinuous Nouns Story)

Go down 
AuthorMessage
EllieMary
Newly Discovered

Room With a View (3 Discontinuous Nouns Story) Empty
PostSubject: Room With a View (3 Discontinuous Nouns Story)   Room With a View (3 Discontinuous Nouns Story) EmptyTue Nov 09, 2010 11:59 pm

Microwave, Frame, Button.

People will tell you that university is the best four years of your life. That’s just because the next few years are, without doubt, the worst.
My first year as a graduate was nothing like I had pictured. Silly me, I had somehow deluded myself into thinking life would turn all sunshine and rainbows as soon as I got my hands on that diploma. I couldn’t have been more wrong.
As a psych major with next to no job experience, I wound up a full time ‘administrative assistant’ at a small accounting firm, fancy way of saying I filed things all day. Well, that’s not entirely true. Sometimes I had to label and alphabetize them first.
Most of my friends went back home to live with their parents, but I managed to scrounge enough together to rent a small apartment in town, nothing glamourous. I was on the third floor, sandwiched between a struggling single-parent family and an old woman who did her best to live up to the title of ‘crazy cat lady’.
The apartment itself was small, bedroom, bathroom and kitchen-living room. I slept on a mattress thrown in one corner, cooked all my meals in the microwave, and did my laundry down the block. I didn’t live there, I merely survived.
I was there for almost a year, all told, before I finally left for good. Dress it up however you like: I found a better place; I needed somewhere closer to work, truth is that in the end, Maggie won.